Missing Stranger

For my father, who passed away on Father’s Day, June 17, 2007 at 44 years old.

I wrote this poem months later in order to sort through my feelings about his life and death, his absence from my own life, and general confusion about how I was supposed to feel and what I should and should not do.

Today, the memories of him are all good ones . 🙂

Missing Stranger


Oh, how I searched for you,
familiar stranger,
for you captivated my heart
years ago.Oh, how it still cries for you,
sweet stranger,
reacting to fuzzy images I can’t
let go.

Oh, how angry you made me,
foolish stranger,
as I tried to make you
understand.

Oh, how lonely you must have been,
timid stranger,
for you could never reached out
your hand.

Oh, how I longed to call for you,
distant stranger,
as you let others take
your place.

Oh, how my guilted soul questions,
elusive stranger,
if too soon I gave up
the chase.

Oh, if you could feel my heart,
misguided stranger,
you’d feel only love beyond
its door.

Oh, if you could hear me,
wandering stranger,
I would call you “Daddy”
once more.

Oh, what a painful memory,
slumbering stranger,
when you passed on the ‘day
of Fathers’.

Oh, how I wish for your happiness,
eternal stranger,
and that you will one day call me
“daughter”.

P.M.O./Ponix7
March 17, 2008

One comment on “Missing Stranger

  1. He died young. May he rest in peace.
    What a reflective poem – filled with feelings I’m sure any reader can familiarize with. Beautiful.

Leave a Reply

